Recent Searches
Clear

Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

star-4.5163 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Taormina, Italy
Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore Europe’s largest active volcano this day trip to Mt Etna from Taormina. Relax with transportation to the base station of Rifugio Sapienza and then take off through the foothills for some time to spend hiking at your leisure. Alternatively, upgrade your ticket for a trip up to the upper craters and a guided walking tour through the volcanic craters. Soak up scenic views from the UNESCO-listed spot before concluding with transportation back to Taormina.
  • Travel to Etna’s base station at Rifugio Sapienza
  • Enjoy time at leisure to trek around the foothills of Mount Etna
  • See the famous Monti Silvestri Craters near Rifugio Sapienza
  • Optional upgrade to visit Mount Etna up to 3000 meters height with an Alpine guide
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional multilingual guide
Food and drinks
Wind jackets and boots rental

Departure Point

Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy

Departure for all tours is from the main Bus Terminal in Via Pirandello. Pick up is also available along the coast at Taormina by the sea, Letojanni and Giardini Naxos. Customers are invited to contact for information about pick up.The coach is silver with a SAT logo in red.

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Viale Dionisio, 12, 98035 Giardini Naxos ME, Italy

Customers are obligated to contact SAT Group for information about pick up.

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

98037 Letojanni, Province of Messina, Italy

Customers are obligated to contact SAT Group for information about pick up.

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Hop aboard your coach in central Taormina and travel one hour inland to Mount Etna. Set in the middle of a national park, the notoriously active volcano dominates the surrounding landscape.

Step out at Rifugio Sapienza, the volcano’s base station. Your host will point you in the direction of the impressive Monti Silvestri Craters before you take off exploring the foothills at your own speed. Discover the myriad hiking trails along the way and soak up incredible views from all over the national park. When you’ve worked up an appetite, head to Rifugio Sapienza’s restaurant (own expense), located conveniently nearby.

Alternatively, upgrade your experience with a guided trip to the volcano’s upper crater. Travel up by cable car and then by jeep to the crater zones at roughly 9,800 feet (3,000 meters). Led by licensed guides from the Italian Alpine Club, admire the craters and take in panoramic views.

Your tour will conclude with transportation back to Taormina.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Giardini Naxos
Pick up point only on request.
Pass By:  
Taormina
Pick up point only on request.
Pass By:  
Letojanni
Pick up only on request.
Stop At:  
Mount Etna
Visit Sicily’s famously fiery volcano, the magnificent Mount Etna, on a day trip from Taormina.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
Reach Rifugio Sapienza 1900 meters
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Warm clothes and comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Please contact the supplier to reconfirm the excursion at least the day before and to get more information about the closest pick-up point
  • The high-altitude ascents are not indicated for heart passengers, asthmatics and pregnant women.
  • Please note that for your safety, all excursions to Etna do not reach the edge of the main craters and customers are always kept on a safety zone.
  • This tour is operated in English, German, Italian. All 3 languages will be spoken during the tour.
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Infant seats available on request
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 79 travelers
  • OPERATED BY SAT Group
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "We stayed a couple of nights in Taormina and this was well worth it." See review
  • "Amazing views and if you go the extra to 3000 meters you are almost at the top of the mountain." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
163 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 163 reviews
star-3
Nice view, but the german...
Jasper_L
, Oct 2021
Nice view, but the german tourguide doesnt speak english very well. Busdriver was very gold. Everyone should go to the Etna
star-3
Decent for the bus ride, but there are better options.
Michael_R
, Sep 2021
Decent all-in-one Etna trip including bus from Taormina, Cablecar-Tickets and a short Bus ride farther up the mountain. If you're just looking to see mount Etna, this is a convenient solution. I was however disappointed by the soul-less lecture of our guide - sure, doing three languages at once isn't easy, but if you're just gonna sound like reading bits of a Wikipedia article then I can do that myself. The guide seemed more interested to sell extended packages including the cable-car ride to those who hadn't done so yet anyways, promising a ride up to 3000 meters, conveniently omitting that due to recent eruptions the things you can do on top of the mountain are severely limited. The hike on top of the mountain then again was great, the alpine guides there really know what they're talking about, they're very enthusiastic, and great at answering questions. However the "hike" was also really short, barely half an hour, if that. Long story short, whilst Etna surely is a must-see, book a more personalized tour with a smaller group if you want to get the most out of it.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
You were absolutely invited to ask for more information from the tour guide. It is trylly difficult for our guides to explain everything in three languages and, of course, they have to follow a certain schedule. Regarding the hike on Mount Etna, it is more like a walk than a trekking since our tour is suitable to all kinds of ages and athletic levels. Regards.
star-4
Lovely trip but a little twist
Richard
, Aug 2021
It was a very nice trip and I loved it there. But there is one thing, the description says you go up to 3300 meters. But on the tour they told up they didn't go further then 2750 meter. Cause of safety reasons, still a really nice trip but I advise you change it in your description of the trip.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Never written 3300 meters, maybe 3000 on same descriptions of past years. Now we are assisting to a new eruption and there is a limit of 2800 meters we cannot overcome for safety reasons. Nothing to do about it, only to respect it since no one can joke with a volcano. Alpine guides are very strict on that. Warm regards.
star-4
breathtaking ecperience
Inge_B
, Jul 2021
Our busguide was a humoristic man wil told ..in all languages..a lott about the island. The trip with the bus , 4 Wheel drive bus and cable was also a part of the ecperience . The landscape and the vieuw above are stunning. I would like to had more time above. We could not go up to the top because of the activity but we knew this . But it was a beautifill and wel organised day
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Inge_B, we really hope you have the chance to come back and see Etna at the best and at the top! We are looking forward to welcoming you, meanwhile we thank you for your lovely review. Regards. Customer Care Manager - SAT Group
star-5
Trip at the Etna
Cyns
, Aug 2020
It was an impressive trip up the mountain by bus, cableway and jeep. The people speak english quite well so it was easy to understand. The walk around one of the craters was intens with a lot of cold wind. But very interesting! We really needed the jackets that we've rented. After the jeepride back we walked down to the beginning of the cableway. We really loved the views!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hello Cyns, receiving your review is so rewarding ! Thank you for the precious tips for other potential customers. All teh very best. SAT Group staff Customer Care Manager
star-4
Etna
susiecottonsock
, Nov 2019
Didn't realise how commercialised etna was. Nice courier, big coach, view was fantastic from the top, we were lucky, no clouds. Enjoyable trip.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hello, it is quite normal that the highest volcano in Europe is considered an important destination for tours and activities. At least you were lucky with the weather and the visibility was fine. We send you our best. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-1
Worst travel experience ever
c0linfletcher
, Oct 2019
Was no more than a very expensive return bus trip. Poorly organised, long queues, all very rushed and chaotic.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Customer, we are surprised to read your very short review that describes without giving further details on the organization, in order to better understand your points. We are sorry if the tour did not meet your expectations. Regarding the queues, it would have been better for you to choose the Etna Sunset Tour with small numbers and no chaos at all. Maybe next time you can experience a different mood on Mount Etna. Greetings from Taormina, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great attraction badly organised
Catherine D
, Sep 2019
The trip up Mount Etna is well worth it. Amazing views and if you go the extra to 3000 meters you are almost at the top of the mountain. The only thing which let our tour down was the lack of organization. The ticket booth and cable car entry is quite narrow and chaotic. Out tour guide told us to wait for her and then at the top rushed off with half the group to pick up the guide leaving the rest of us behind to sort out our own tour of the craters. I think it actually worked out better for us so my tip is to go round by yourself.
star-1
Over crowded - more transit than volcano
Fran_Power_Maurer
, Sep 2019
We paid for the full tour of the cable car and 4x4. We were collected late at 9am then spent almost 2 hours driving to the volcano - we had to wait to get on the cable car and when we got to the top we had to wait over an hour for the 4x4 to get to the top of the volcano. We spent so much time waiting that when we got to the top we had to come straight back down to get the bus by 2:15 or be left behind. Not enough time to even walk around at the top. Not to mention the rudeness of the lady hosting our group. I had taken two children and she had a crack at my parenting for bringing two young children on the tour without proper clothing. When I was trying to ask and determine if I could hire clothes or not she just kept having a go at me as a parent. I ended in tears. I would never put my kids at risk and I just wanted to have a conversation with her without her being rude and disrespectful to me. Complete waste of money and time , so disorganised and way too crowded. In all my travels I’ve never seen a natural attraction so crowded: better off just going yourself and taking your time so you can see everything at your pace and if you have to wait (because it is nature and you don’t know) then you can wait and still experience the sight without being rushed back.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Fran_P, Etna is always very crowded unless is visited during the vening time during our Etna Sunset Tour. It can also happen that the coach can be a bit late during the peak season, in any case you are mentioning a normal delay. Regarding our guide, we are sorry to read that you felt uneasy. It is quite strange that you felt judged, our guides always stress the necessity of cover children and kids at the best, since it can be very cold and windy at the top of Etna and that was the case. We are sorry if our guide seemed tough to you. In any case we were at your disposal at our agency at any time to hear your comments. We are sorry you did not call us and you did not show up. We hope we can have a second chance! Warm regards, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-5
Valley of Temples and Villa Romana del Casale
Roving13418712930
, Aug 2019
Very informative and well led tour with a caring staff. For those without an automobile, the tour is a very good value since both sites can be visited within a day tour. The only negative is that more time is required to see Villa Romana del Casale than was provided.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hello Roving...it is true in Sicily you need days longer than 24 hours to see all the treasures with time and relax. We thank you for sharing your important feedback. All the best, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina
Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

star-4.5163

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$47.40

star-5226

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.58

star-54

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$48.05

star-542

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.29

star-3.5161

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$106.65

star-523

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$112.10

star-4.533

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.44

star-58

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$120.43

star-4.515

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.69

Explore Similar Things to Do