Recent Searches
Clear

Entire Vatican & Vatacombs

star-4.5293 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Entire Vatican & Vatacombs

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Unlock the mysteries of the Vatican on this popular tour. Follow your guide on a carefully selected route through the Vatican Museum’s hundreds of sprawling rooms to see the most important pieces of this world-class art collection. Gaze up at the Sistine Chapel ceiling, and then head underground to the rarely seen ‘Vatacombs’—the final resting place of many popes and home to ancient relics. Enjoy priority access to bypass the crowds, including skip-the-line privileges to enter St. Peter’s Basilica.
  • Top-rated tour of Vatican City highlights
  • Head straight to the most important pieces in the immense Vatican Museum collection
  • Hear the history and legends of the Sistine Chapel
  • Visit the tombs of former popes in the underground ‘Vatacombs’
  • Skip-the-line access to St. Peter’s Basilica

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour unlocks the rarely seen ‘Vatacombs’—papal tombs not normally open to the public.
Saved to wishlist!
Get into the Vatican Museums fast with our no lines priority access ticket and local expert guide
Entire Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Basilica tour with multiple departure times
Catch all the classic and ancient sculptures inside world famous chambers, halls and galleries
Immersive Sistine Chapel inside experience and a panel-by-panel tour of Michelangelo's ceiling
Tour of little-known Papal Sarcophagi beneath St. Peter's Basilica which we call "Vatacombs"
Full tour of entire St. Peter's Basilica covering all the major works of art and sculpture therein
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities

Departure Point

Via Sebastiano Veniero, 19, 00192 Roma RM, Italy

Via Sebastiano Veniero 19, nearest metro station is called Ottaviano / San Pietro / Musei Vaticani on Linea A which on any Rome metro map is coloured orange.

Return Details

Piazza San Pietro, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City

The tour concludes on St. Peter's Square in front of St. Peter's Basilica.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • On days immediately surrounding religious holidays at the Vatican, alterations to tours may become necessary due to partial closings of areas normally included in this tour. In the event that the Papal tombs beneath St. Peter's Basilica are closed, the tour of the Basilica itself will be extended and no refunds made
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Maximum 20 travelers on this tour, hand sanitizer made available (we will provide), mandatory mask-wearing on the tour (bring your own)
  • Covid-19 Restrictions may affect this tour and the ability to pass from the Sistine Chapel to St. Peter's Basilica directly. If this is the case, your guide will provide you with an explanation of the major works or art inside St. Peter's at the conclusion of your Vatican Museum tour, and you will then be able to walk to the main Basilica entrance and explore the church on your own
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY When In Rome Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Entire Vatican & Vatacombs?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Entire Vatican & Vatacombs.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Entire Vatican & Vatacombs?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Entire Vatican & Vatacombs.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Entire Vatican & Vatacombs?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Entire Vatican & Vatacombs.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Entire Vatican & Vatacombs?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Entire Vatican & Vatacombs.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "With the Vatican being so busy, a tour is mandatory." See review
  • "It seems to be par for the course, so don't expect time to contemplate much, it's like a drive by, on foot!" See review
  • "For those of you going to Rome - it's worth the skip the line and get your own tour guide; you won't learn or understand nearly as much on your own ." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
293 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 293 reviews
star-5
Awesome guide
Alejandro_C
, Nov 2021
Our tour was great, the guide was very informative and she answered all our questions. It was very interesting learning about the Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Must see
Bailey_O
, Aug 2021
Great tour that went the extra mile to accommodate us. Was running behind (we blame the bus) but a simple message to the tour guide and we still made it. They had to split the tour into two parts because of COVID, but it gave us a chance to get lunch around the Vatican. Very hot during August, many stairs and steps, but all worth it!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
No catacombs
Barbara_D
, Aug 2021
Our tour guide Massimo was great, he made the Vatican Museum tour very nice and interesting. But we did not get the catacombs tour and also not the Vatican City tour, what was very disappointing. Viators reason for that miss were the corona restrictions, but the catacombs were definitely open to visitors at that day. Even though we received a 10€ refund, we did not get what we booked. This felt like deception and I cannot recommend Viator.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hello, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It is however a pity that you would give such a poor rating since you state that your guide was great. In advance of your tour, you received an email from us explaining very clearly that the PASSAGE between the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's is currently closed, and you were offered an alternative in order to be able to see all of the sites as advertised in the description. You declined to accept, and asked for the €10 refund instead. I don't see how you can now complain that you missed some of the sites...but we're glad you enjoyed Massimo's tour nonelethess.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Way too crowded
575lyleb
, Nov 2019
The skip the line tour put us in a very long line for the security check. the entire tour was shoulder to shoulder. However our guide was very good.
star-2
Hard to hear, so many people (2.5*)
arielleller
, Aug 2019
Starting off, I had high standards for this tour having been to the Vatican city 12 years prior on a Trafalgar tour. We took the metro across the river and walked to the starting point. Unfortunately, it took us a couple of trys to find the location (not very easy to find). Our tour guide was a friendly, older woman. She was knowledgeable and funny, however hard to understand through the headsets and she would disappear very often because she did not keep her wand up in the air. At one point, my husband and I got separated from our group because there were so many people. The amount of people was out of the tour company's control, but it did ruin the experience for my husband who had never been before. Finally, I wouldn't recommend this tour because the Vacacombs aren't really worth the extra cost. They are not very large and just seems like a room with tombs. Unless you are extremely interested in certain popes, I think you could skip this part of the tour. The cathedral was by far the best part.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear arielleller, Thank you for your review. You are correct in stating that large crowds inside the Vatican Museums are absolutely not our fault, so in reality your husband's experience was ruined by other people, not our guide nor our tour. That you lost your guide from time to time is unfortunate. We do feel that it is your responsibility to follow your guide rather than look for a wand in the air, simply because every guide inside the Vatican Museums holds up a wand, a clipboard, or an umbrella. Facial recognition is always advisable. Absolutely clear directions to our office are included in all Vatican tour confirmation vouchers with map co-ordinates. This is a straightforward note for potential clients who are reading this review. We are glad that you appreciated St. Peter's Basilica. Thank you for joining our tour. When In Rome Tours
star-4
Vatican Tour
Michalee_M
, Apr 2019
Our tour guide was excellent! She was very knowledgable and friendly. It was well organized when the Vatican was very busy.
star-5
Detailed and knowledgeable
Anita_F
, Apr 2019
Wonderful tour giving great detail and depth of knowledge on all that we saw. Our guide Luigi was very obviously experienced and his depth of knowledge greatly enhanced this tour. He was open to questions, easy to follow (in every sense, given the huge crowds there) and a very pleasant guide. I would highly recommend this tour.
star-4
very imformative
Stephen_C
, Oct 2018
Our tour was very informative and it was lovely to learn about the history of the art and buildings we were looking at.
star-5
100% recommend for Catholics and non-Catholics alike
Brenda_L
, Oct 2018
Its amazing how much I learned on this tour - as the only non-Catholic of a group of 4, I was astounded on what Chiara, our tour guide, educated me on but also pleasantly surprised that my friends and husband learned a lot as well. Chiara was so entertaining and wonderful that I almost didn't want to the tour to end. For those of you going to Rome - it's worth the skip the line and get your own tour guide; you won't learn or understand nearly as much on your own .
star-3
A lesson in patience and surrender
Donna M
, Oct 2018
This tour was packed with a ton of things to see and learn. However, the crowds were immense and the negotiating through them was a challenge. It seems to be par for the course, so don't expect time to contemplate much...it's like a drive by...on foot! The Vatican and Vatacombs were awesome. I would offer that there is probably little that can be done about viewing them without the wall to wall crowds. That said it is important to note that our guide did not speak English well or clearly...this added to frustration in getting information that we were sure he had a lot of but could not effectively pass on. We were all English speaking in this particular tour and expected a more clear speaking guide for sure. He was gracious and attentive but the job is monumental with all the crowds...kinda have mixed thoughts about whether it was worth it or not in retrospect. You want to see these sites, you want to learn from guides but you sure don't want to be herded through the massive venue either. Jury is out on my final verdict . You finally surrender to it all and make the best of it and try to be in the moment. Hard to imagine visiting Rome without seeing these sites. Don't think other guides were having an easier time than ours...it's just what is. Just be patient and prepared.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Entire Vatican & Vatacombs
Entire Vatican & Vatacombs

star-4.5293

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.17

star-4.5142

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$126.65

star-565

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.93

star-4.558

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$68.55

star-5152

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.03

star-575

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.05

star-4.569

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.55

star-581

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$76.52

Explore Similar Things to Do