Recent Searches
Clear

Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour by Train from Paris with Skip-the-Line

star-4.577 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Paris, France
Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour by Train from Paris with Skip-the-Line
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

There are few palaces as world-famous as Versailles, but with some 10 million annual visitors, you could spend longer queuing outside than exploring inside. This half-day tour from Paris ensures a hassle-free experience with round-trip train transfers from the city, skip-the-line entrance, and a guided tour of the staterooms, palace gardens, and Marie Antoinette’s hamlet (if option selected).
  • Explore the Palace of Versailles on a skip-the-line guided tour
  • Multiple times offered throughout the day
  • All entrance fees and round-trip train fares included
  • Upgrade to include a visit to the Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette’s hamlet
Saved to wishlist!
Musical Gardens or Fountain Show (operates on weekend from April through October
Round-trip transportation from central Paris to Versailles by RER train
Fully accredited English-speaking guides
Headsets when appropriate so you can always hear your guide
Fully guided visit to the Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette’s hamlet (if option selected)
All reservations and entrance fees to the Palace of Versailles, with skip the line timed entance.
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Fully guided visit to the Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette’s hamlet (unless option selected)
Javel train station , 75015 Paris, France

Directions: Meet your guide outside the entrance/exit to Javel André Citroen metro station (line 10). Exit the metro, at street level you will see the café Regalia. Your guide will be waiting for you by the metro exit across the road from the café. Street address: 2 avenue Emile Zola, 75015 Paris

Château de Versailles , 78000 Versailles, France

Your tour will end in Versailles, your guide will provide return tickets and instructions for the easy train ride back to Paris.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note the gardens are not optimal for people with mobility issues or using a wheelchair
  • Our skip-the-line privilege does not extend to the security checkpoint
  • Please note: You will need to wear a mask when on the train to and from Versailles.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Memories France
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you are looking to actually tour the palace and enjoy all of its inner workings its best to go towards November-March." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
77 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 77 reviews
star-5
Must see!
Po_S
, Aug 2022
Merlyn our tour guide and Victoria your arranger were fantastic. It was a small group tour and very organized. We completely enjoyed listening to some of the stories about the palace.
star-1
The first part was...
Jennifer_D
, Aug 2022
The first part was fantastic!!!! Until it was time to go to the gardens. The tickets our guide had wouldn’t let us in. She kept calling the company and was sent more, but still couldn’t get in. My daughter and I ended up buying tickets separately (even though we had already paid for them) to get in. We finished the gardens and our group was still waiting to get in. I would like to get a partial refund. And let me say the guide was great and I felt sorry for her, it was not her fault
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry about the garden ticket mix up on the day of your tour, and the delay it caused. We buy our tickets in advance so that guests avoid the ticket lines, and for some reason the tickets that day were showing as invalid. The time it took us to sort this out with the people who manage the gardens was much longer than it should have been, and we do apologise for that. We contacted all guests right after the tour and have issued partial refunds for 1/3 of the cost of the morning tour, please let us know if you have not received it yet. We are glad that you enjoyed the palace part of the tour. We take great care in preparing our tours and we always want our guides to be able to work in the best conditions possible, so we take it very much to heart when things occasionally go wrong. We hope that you and your daughter had a wonderful stay here in Paris, and that we will be able to welcome you again and show you a 100% perfect tour. This is what we work hard to provide every day and we apologise again for the mix up on yours.
star-5
Great tour!
Tiffany_B
, Jul 2022
What a great tour! We had a wonderful and knowledgeable guide, Humberto. We saw Versailles and the garden at a great pace. The meeting place and trip to Versailles was easy and wonderfully guided as well. Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Many thanks for your review and recommendation which we have shared with Humberto. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your visit to Versailles and we'd also like to thank our fantastic team of coordinators who take such good care of our guests on the trip to Versailles. We hope you had a wonderful stay in Paris and we hope to see you again!
star-3
Too much walking in order to save money
Judith_C
, Jul 2022
Tried to save money by choosing this option to travel by train to palace. The train was extremely crowded and the walk from station to palace is really long when faced with walking the palace grounds. We bailed out midway
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt there was too much walking for you on this tour. We don't actually take the train because it's cheaper, but because it allows our guests much more flexibility if they want to stay on in Versailles and see more after the tour. We don't like to demand people leave to take a bus if they have not finished seeing all that they want to. As you saw, there is a lot to see! The trains can get a bit crowded, but you are escorted all the way by our wonderful team of coordinators who take very good care of everyone during the trip. We take the train to Versailles Chateau, which is the closest station to the palace and just a few minutes walk away. There is quite a lot of walking in the gardens, this is because the most beautiful groves are hidden (and they are well worth seeing!) and our guides want to ensure that you see the very best of the palace and the gardens. We are sorry that you left half way through the tour. We hope that perhaps we'll have the opportunity to welcome you on a different visit in the future that you will find more suited to you. We do hope you had a wonderful stay in Paris!
star-5
Beautiful Versailles
Audrey_L
, Jul 2022
Valerie was a great tour guide, beautiful gardens and palace! Valerie gave us so much background information and was helpful getting us thru metro!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review which we have shared with Valerie. We are really happy you enjoyed spending time at Versailles with her (and on the metro, another very Parisian experience!) We hope you had a wonderful stay here in Paris.
star-5
Great tour & Superb service
David_R
, Jun 2022
We had train mixups on our way to meet the tour, and Memories France staff kept in communication to successfully help us catch the tour, they were so kind and professional. Our wonderful guide Valerie was upbeat and navigated us with ease through the crowded palace, providing so much interesting commentary that our teenager was never bored. The audio headphones were great to have since we didn’t have to be close to hear her. Excellent commentary continued through the gardens. Highly recommend this tour and Memories France. Be sure to meet the tour early in case you run into train problems like we did.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you David for taking the time to leave us a review! We were really happy that you made it and of course we're always glad to help! We have passed your kind comments on to Valerie and are sure she'll be as happy to read them as we are. We hope you and your family had a great stay in Paris and would love to see you again should you ever come back!
star-5
Very knowledgeable and...
Jayne_S
, Jun 2022
Very knowledgeable and entertaining guide. Thank you for getting a w/c for my mother and making sure she was able to see everything from the w/c. It was a trip she had been looking forward to for some time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review! We are really happy to read that you and your mother enjoyed your visit to Versailles, and that your mother was comfortable and able to make the most of it. Our amazing guides really do all they can to ensure everyone has the best time, and we also thank them for that. We hope you are both having a wonderful stay in Paris, and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again!
star-5
Must see
Katelyn_M
, May 2022
The tour from start to finish was exceptional. Our guide was so knowledgeable and genuinely interested and excited by the history of Versailles which have such a wonderful layer to an already breathtaking tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Many thanks for your review which we are very happy to read! We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour to Versailles, we love it there and it's wonderful to see that you had such a great time with your guide. We hope you had a great stay in Paris and look forward to perhaps seeing you again on future visits!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Send in the crowds
John_H
, May 2022
It was a mostly enjoyable tour but crowds and delays in entry were disappointing. Our guide was pleasant. The train trip by RER from Paris was fine and a guide met us as promised. When we arrived in Versailles, despite having skip the line privileges, we waited in very long lines for entry. Once inside the palace was packed with visitors. The gardens were attractive, but huge, and it was too early to enjoy much of the flowers. As it turned out we were there during the French Easter holiday week so the crowds might have been more than expected for April.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you experienced some delays in entering the palace. The major sites in Paris can get very crowded, and this spring it seemed more so than ever. In order to facilitate the entry of our guests at Versailles we have a coordinator to assist the guide and the guests. The guide arrives early and collects our tickets and reservations and the coordinator takes care of making sure all our guests are met, this way we are as efficient as possible and do not lose any time. We have a pre-reserved entry at Versailles which is timed, and generally the staff at the palace are able to ensure that the groups enter at their allotted time. However sometimes when it gets very busy there can be delays, but I would like to assure all guests that any wait time we may sometimes experience is much less than the lines for the general public! We have had a very busy Easter here in Paris, we hope that your guide was able to ensure you navigated the crowds in the palace and to show you the best parts of the gardens. As for the flowers, we find the structure of the gardens beautiful at all times of year, but we'd love to take you back to Versailles again a little later in the year when the flowers are all out - don't hesitate to contact us if ever you are back in Paris! We hope you had a great stay and that we will see you again on future visits.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour of the louvre for families
MariaC_P
, Apr 2022
The tour is perfect for teens and families. Our Guide Lilian was amazing 🤩! The length is perfect and she tells the most interesting stories, not the run of the mill that everyone knows.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems your reviews may have got mixed up between your tours, but we are very happy to hear that you had multiple great tours in Paris! We hope you had a wonderful stay!
star-4
The tour was very...
Katherine_B
, Oct 2021
The tour was very extensive and our guide was great. There is a lot of walking so be prepared for that. The pickup and train ride were both very smooth. I think it was just a little much on the history side for us
5 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Magnificent Versailles
Joanna_W
, Oct 2021
Sylvie is an excellent excellent guide. From the moment we met her she displayed professionalism. She was wearing pink so we could easily spot her. She absolutely embodies passion as she speaks about the history related to Versailles. She is extremely knowledgeable. She used so many pictures on her phone to help us understand the history while we were travelling to Versailles on the train and she continued her excellent commentaries as we went through the different rooms in the palace as well as the palace gardens..!!! A memorable tour indeed!!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
The most beautiful place!!!
Monica_C
, Feb 2020
It was a great experience. The meeting point was easy to find and tour guide was there in time to set up the group. She was knowledgeable and had a great time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful Tour and Guide
timk12019
, Oct 2019
Herve was a wonderful guide for our tour of Versailles. His knowledge of the history and story telling helped us to enjoy the tour even through the rain! Highly recommend!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Needs More Organization
Anatoliy_R
, May 2019
The Versailles Palace was abundant in historical artifacts and timeless pieces. I did enjoy the main rooms of the palace, but unfortunately the crowds were non-stop. You barely get a clear moment to take pictures or actually enjoy the experience as you are constantly pushed forward by the next touring group. If you are looking to enjoy the gardens then go between June-October. If you are looking to actually tour the palace and enjoy all of its inner workings its best to go towards November-March.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Worth the money
Sandra_W
, Mar 2019
The tour was great. Herve was a brilliant guide, we learned lots that we would have missed on our own. Being able to skip the lines was fantastic as they were huge. Would definitely recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This is a great way to see Versailles Palace
Nancy_C
, Oct 2018
Our tour of Versailles was very well organized, and our guide looked out for all of us on the train and made sure if we wanted to stay longer we knew how to get back to Paris. This is a must see on any trip to Paris, and was really enjoyable. Our guide was able to work us up to the front of all the rooms to explain the history and what they were used for. We really liked the gardens, and she took us to her favorite working fountain - which was lovely. We ended up staying for lunch at a restaurant in the gardens, and it was delicious! This was a great tour and a fun day.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Surprisingly good
Annie_S
, Aug 2018
The guide was extraordinarily good. She knew a lot of things, og was a good orator. The tour wouldn`t have been the same without her. Brilliant.
star-4
With the strike we did not know if...
BARBARA_S
, Apr 2018
With the strike we did not know if this tour was going and phone number did not work and the other number provided was not for the tour. Also, if your take tour, the way back is without a guide, so we had no idea how to get back to hotel. Luckly we found a taxi stop and got a cab. The tour was beautiful and informative and would have given a 5 if not for poor communication.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2018
TOUR OPERATOR COMMENT: Thank you for your feedback. Please be aware, the strike was not in effect on this date of travel. However, even on the strike day we provided bus transportation for all our clients to and from Versailles. Our guides do not accompany clients back to Paris as they continue the visit with other clients to the Petit Trianon, but tickets and clear instructions are provided. We will review our descriptions to ensure it's clear that the guide may not accompany clients back to Paris, but that they will have everything they need for a smooth and easy return.
star-5
The tour was absolutely the best...
Edmund_G
, Jan 2018
The tour was absolutely the best part of our trip to France. The tour guide was so kind and showed all the most interesting part of the palace. I can not speak more highly of the tour. If you are looking to go to Versailles you must use this tour and you will absolutely agree.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour by Train from Paris with Skip-the-Line
Likely to Sell Out
Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour by Train from Paris with Skip-the-Line

star-4.577

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.19

star-4.5652

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$77.61

star-534

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$162.90

star-4218

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$78.87

star-541

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$141.87

star-51106

6 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$102.44

star-4848

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.92

star-4.5554

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$260.80

star-4.5148

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.50
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations