Recent Searches
Clear

Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

star-4.558 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Avignon, France
Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

See the best of beautiful, medieval Avignon on this 3-hour walking tour with skip-the-line access to Popes’ Palace. Learn the history of this exquisite UNESCO-listed city with ancient Roman roots and celebrity as the 14th-century seat of the Papacy. Admire hilltop views of the Rhône River, breeze into Popes’ Palace to tour the ornate chambers and chapels, and enjoy a glass of Côtes du Rhône wine near the Place de l’Horloge.
  • 3-hour walking tour of Avignon and the Pope’s Palace
  • Explore the heart of medieval Avignon, home to the Papacy in the 14th century
  • Wander the medieval streets with an expert guide and soak up the atmosphere in this UNESCO-listed city
  • Take in panoramic views of Avignon and the Rhône River from the top of the fortified city walls
  • Enjoy skip-the-line access to the Pope’s Palace — during high season, waiting times can be upward of 30 minutes
  • Admire 19th-century architecture in Avignon’s town square, the Place de l’Horloge
Saved to wishlist!
Licensed guide
1 glass of Côtes du Rhône wine
Popes Palace ticket entrance
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Hotel pickup and drop-off
4 Rue de la République , 4 Rue de la République, 84000 Avignon, France

Meet your guide at our office A La Française Provence located 4 rue de la république 84000 Avignon.

9:30 AM
This activity ends in a different location. See details below:
  • Le Carré du Palais , 1 Pl. du Palais, 84000 Avignon, France
  • Restaurant Bar à Vin Le 46 , 46 Rue de la Balance, 84000 Avignon, France
  • Your 3-hour sightseeing tour of historic Avignon begins in the morning. Meet your guide in at a central location near the Pope’s Palace and stroll through the town’s historic center. As you walk, hear about Avignon’s extensive history, officially beginning with Roman conquest in the sixth century BC, though most renowned as the papal residence during the 14th and 15th centuries. 

    Follow medieval streets and alleys, and climb to the top of the city’s famous ramparts – medieval constructions that were restored in the 19th century. From atop the ancient walls, enjoy sweeping vistas of the Avignon city and the rushing Rhône River. 

    Next, head to Popes’ Palace, the world’s largest Gothic palace and a UNESCO-listed site, where you’ll have skip-the-line access to tour the building’s impressive interior. Learn about medieval life in the palace and explore galleries, fresco-adorned chapels, papal apartments and grand ceremonial rooms.

    Finish your excursion with a visit to the Place de l’Horloge (Clock Tower Square), the main square in the heart of town from which the clock is – ironically – hardly visible. However, you’ll view the beautiful opera theater and city hall before heading to a historic local bar for a glass of Côtes du Rhône wine.

    Your walking tour ends in central Avignon in the afternoon.
    Itinerary
    Stop At:  
    Avignon
    Enjoy a 3 hours walking tour in the city center
    Duration: 3 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    Pass By:  
    Pont Saint-Benezet (Pont d'Avignon)
    See the medieval bridge, worldwide famous thanks to the childish song « Sous le Pont d'Avignon ».
    Pass By:  
    Cathedrale Notre-Dame des Doms
    Have a look at the façade of the cathedral
    Stop At:  
    Palais des Papes
    Visit the largest gothic style palace, true symbol of the influence of Western Christianity in the 14th century.
    Duration: 1 hour 
    Admission Ticket Included
    Pass By:  
    Place de l'Horloge
    See the heart of Avignon city, its town hall and the opera house.
    Stop At:  
    Restaurant Bar à Vin Le 46
    Taste a glass of Côtes du Rhône wine.
    Duration: 30 minutes
    Admission Ticket Included
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not suitable for children under 4 years old
    • There are a series of steps to climb to reach the Pope's Palace
    • Anyone under 18 will not be served wine at the end of the tour
    • Near public transportation
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • 4 persons minimum to guarantee the departure
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Provence Reservation
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace?
    A:The policy on sanitization is:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    See all safety measures taken by Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace?
    A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    See all safety measures taken by Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace.

    Traveler Photos

    Traveler Tips


    • "The tour was a steep climb for old people initially, so a better way of getting to the Pope’s Palace should be considered." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    58 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews
    star-2
    Disappointed
    Rebecca_H
    , Jun 2022
    Our guide was very nice, however the tour was disappointing. We did not get any kind of earphones or audio guide, so with the noise all around we couldn't hear anything she said. You would be better off buying tickets in advance yourself and getting an audio guide.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Dear Rebecca, Concerned about customers satisfaction, we are very attentive to comments. Thank you for your feedback. We have equipped vehicles but in view of the circumstances we had to rent vehicles and we waited for the micro equipment... we are very sorry for the disappointments. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards A LA FRANCAISE TEAM
    star-2
    Not worth It
    Lynette_H
    , May 2022
    Our guide was friendly initially. However, she was nearly impossible to hear (spoke very softly, no microphone). Those that could hear her struggled to understand her English pronunciation. There were many words in English she did not know, so she said them in French. Many in our group have international business experience and are multilingual, and all struggled to understand her. She provided very limited information. In many cases, she simply read the posted signs to us. When we arrived at the Palace of the Popes, she did not provide us with ipads, which were included in the admission fee. Since we could not understand her, we felt we needed the information on the ipads. The ipads also had pictures/renderings of the historic images of the Palace, which we missed out in. We asked for ipads and she argued with us that we didn't need them. After she declined to give us the ipads and we realized we couldn't hear or understand much of what she was saying, we left the tour early. I believe it was this guides first week on the job. We are a very patient group and would have worked with her, but she was not able to communicate effectively with the group and was unwilling to give us ipads. This was not worth the money.... In fact, I would not recommend it if it were free. I think with some additional training, she will be an OK guide.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you very much for your feedback, we are sincerely sorry for these disappointments. It was indeed his first week, and perhaps a little stressful, apprehensive. We have to do the best for customer satisfaction, and put everything in place to improve the services of our guides. We returned to the guide, and continued the training. Best regards A la Française team
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-4
    Great walking tour of Avignon
    Lawrence_T
    , May 2022
    We were running late to the meeting place and our guide waited 15 minutes for us- very nice! The tour was very interesting and informative!
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear customer, Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. A la française team
    star-5
    Great overview of the history of Avignon.
    Jean_H
    , May 2022
    We had a wonderful experience on our tour with Nicholas. A good start for our Avignon stay. The wine at end of your was a nice treat.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. A la française Team.
    star-5
    Perfect way to learn about Avignon!
    Shannon_B
    , Apr 2022
    AD & Francoise we’re great guides. Very knowledgeable about Avignon history in general and the Palace as well. The wine shop visit after was perfect.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Dear costumer, Thank you for your nice review. we are very attentive to customer satisfaction and do everything to improve our services and that of our guides. We hope to see you again soon in France. Best regards A la Francaise Team
    star-4
    It was fine
    Dustin_S
    , Apr 2022
    I was hoping for more history on Avignon. Our tour guide was great but I didn’t realize most of our tour would be spent walking around an old church and looking at iPads.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Dear costumer, we are very attentive to customer satisfaction and do everything to improve our services and that of our guides. We hope to see you again soon in France. Best regards A la Francaise Team
    star-1
    No memorable tips...
    Doron_B
    , Apr 2022
    No memorable tips The whole guided tour was a big mistake. I would never use your services. The tour guide is not a tour guide but an amateur
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    We are sincerely sorry for your bad experience. Anxious to satisfy our customers as much as possible, we will pass on your comments. Best regards A LA FRANCAISE TEAM
    star-5
    Family day tour in Avignon
    Edward_A
    , Jan 2022
    Quality of the location and the guide who handled everything very well. Also the ease of arranging. Second Viator experience. Both were very good experiences gor our mixed age family. We will recommend them to others.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Dear Edward Thank you for your review. We hope that you will be travel back to France in the near future.
    star-5
    Excellent tour!
    Sylvia_L
    , Oct 2021
    If you are in Avignon, this is a must! Our guide was wonderful, great knowledge of history and very courteous and patient. I highly recommend this tour!
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
    Thank you for your review. Will pass on to Nicolas, the guide. Look forward to welcoming you back to Provence soon!
    star-5
    Great Tour, great Guide
    Daniel
    , Sep 2021
    The Guide Anais was perfect. Nice, polite, interesting stories and lots of knowledge. I enjoyed being on the Tour.
    star-5
    Avignon and the Palais, well worth it!
    LauraAnn_K
    , Nov 2019
    Enjoyed our time with Julian and the fact he is a local helped with his knowledge. The information was terrific. It is a lot of stairs but worth it.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Great walk in old town
    William G
    , Oct 2019
    We had a very informative and interesting walk through old town and the Popes Palace. Meeting place was easy to find and we enjoyed the wine afterwards.
    star-4
    The right touch - well balanced tour.
    Adrian N
    , Sep 2019
    Our guide, Anne, gave us a good history of Avignon and Provence. The tour was a steep climb for old people initially, so a better way of getting to the Pope’s Palace should be considered. However the content of the tour was excellent and the guide very informative.
    star-5
    Enjoyed our morning
    Christopher_F
    , Jun 2019
    Good tour. Very happy we opted for one, as we got to see parts of the palace and learn things that we wouldn't have otherwise. Guide did an excellent job, especially with his handling a couple of, shall I say, "difficult" members of our group. Definitely worth it.
    star-5
    Great tour!
    Peter M
    , May 2019
    Knowledgeable tour guide walked us through the entire area including the Pope’s castle. Very enjoyable tour.
    star-5
    This was the perfect way to learn...
    Adrienne_J
    , May 2018
    This was the perfect way to learn about the Pope's Palace. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. She even sang Amazing Grace in the chapel so we could appreciate the acoustics. Loved it!
    star-4
    I expected a little more walking...
    Elizabeth P
    , Apr 2018
    I expected a little more walking around Avignon. Most of the tour was of the Pope's Palace. The tour guide was good with his knowledge of the area and palace.
    star-5
    We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and...
    Rebecca_M
    , Oct 2017
    We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and our guide. This was a great way to learn about Avignon and the papacy in France.
    star-5
    This was a great, quick tour of the...
    Jack_C
    , Sep 2017
    This was a great, quick tour of the major sights in Avignon. We've taken skip-the-line tours before and they were sometimes too abbreviated, but this was not. We saw everything you would see if you went on your own, with a lot of explanation and commentary by our wonderful guide, Melanie.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-4
    Intriguing history and edifice. A...
    vanessadeguz
    , Aug 2017
    Intriguing history and edifice. A little difficult to hear all the information as the area is crowded. Recommend audio-tour or headsets with guide. Had good time, nonetheless.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace
    Likely to Sell Out
    Avignon Walking Tour including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

    star-4.557

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $58.42

    star-42

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $156.02

    star-00

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $55.51

    star-443

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $78.27

    star-4.57

    30 days 10 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $166.98

    star-4.520

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $88.71

    star-00

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $74.35

    star-516

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $73.05
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations